What are the parts of brain?

What are the parts of brain?

The brain is divided into regions that are each responsible for different areas of function that are also called parts of brain.

The brain can be divided into three basic units: the forebrain, the midbrain, and the hindbrain.

These areas are the Occipital lobe, Temporal lobe, Parietal lobe, and Frontal lobe.
Cerebral cortex, cerebellum, hypothalamus, thalamus, pituitary gland, pineal gland, amygdala, hippocampus, and midbrain.

Parts of Brain

Occipital lobe:

It is found in the back of the brain. This area is associated with the brain’s ability to recognize objects. It is responsible for our vision.

Temporal lobe:

The temporal lobes are found on either side of the brain and just above the ears. The temporal lobes are responsible for hearing, memory, meaning, and language. They also play a role in emotions and learning. The temporal lobes are concerned with the interpretation and processing of auditory stimuli.

Parietal lobe:

The parietal lobes are found behind the frontal lobes, above the temporal lobes, and in the back of the brain. They are involved in processing nerve impulses related to the senses, such as touch, pain, taste, pressure, and temperature. They also have language functions.

Frontal lobe:

It is related to the areas of emotion, reasoning, planning, movement, and speech. It is also involved in purposeful functions such as creativity, judgment, problem-solving, and planning

Cerebral cortex:

The cerebral cortex controls your thinking, voluntary movements, language, reasoning, and perception. In higher mammals, the cortex looks like it has many folds, grooves, and wrinkles.


Controls your movement, balance, posture, and coordination. New research has also linked it to thinking, novelty, and emotion. The limbic system, often called the “emotional brain,” is found buried within the brain.


Controls your body temperature, emotions, hunger, thirst, appetite, digestion, and sleep. The hypothalamus consists of several different regions and is located at the base of the brain. It is only the size of a pea (about 1/300 of the brain’s total weight), but is responsible for some very important behaviors.


Controls your sensory integration and motor integration. Receives sensory information and conveys it to the cerebral cortex. The cerebral cortex also sends information to the thalamus, which then relays this information to other parts of the brain and to the brain stem.

Pituitary gland:

It regulates your hormones and it helps convert food into energy. Without this gland, you can eat but you will not get energy from food.

Pineal gland:

This part controls your growth and maturity. It is activated by light so if you were born and lived your whole life without a trace of light, your pineal gland would never start working.


The amygdala (there are two of them) controls your emotions such as when you are happy or mad. Your amygdala is very important. Without it you could win the lottery and not feel a thing. You will not be happy.


Forms and stores your memories (scientists think there are other things unknown about the hippocampus) and is involved in learning. If you didn’t have it, you wouldn’t be able to remember anything. People with Alzheimer’s disease lose the function of their hippocampus.


This section controls your breathing, reflexes, and your swallowing reflexes. Including the thalamus, hippocampus, and amygdala. Every living being must have midbrain.